Glass Pavilion Architects Win Prestigious Prize

View Related Pages

Toledo Museum of Art Glass Pavilion Designed by SANAA

Toledo Museum of Art Glass Pavilion designed by SANAA. Photo by floto + warner.

SANAA, the Tokyo-based architects of the Toledo Museum of Art’s Glass Pavilion, have won the prestigious Pritzker Prize.  Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa are only the second partnership — and the first female-male team — to win the award, which is given annually by Chicago’s billionaire Pritzker family to a living architect for “significant contributions to humanity.”

Sejima, 53, and Nishizawa, who at 44 is the youngest architect to win the Pritzker, have dazzled critics and colleagues with such deceptively simple structures as the Glass Pavilion of the Toledo Museum of Art and the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York City.

From NPR:

From the New York Times:

From the Toledo Blade:

Post a Comment