Winners of 2013 Poetry Contest Announced

View Related Pages

Twenty area writers were honored as winners in the Toledo Museum of Art 2013 Poetry Contest during a 7 p.m. ceremony Friday, May 10, in the Museum’s Great Gallery.

Sponsored by The Blade, Kroger and Buckeye CableSystem, the contest attracted more than 300 submissions from adults and students who participated in a Docent-led tour between June 2012 and March 2013 at the Museum.

Entries were judged on the basis of originality, form, language, grammatical skill and creative interpretation or reflection of writing.

First-place winners received $150; second place, $100 and third place, $75. They also each received a one-year individual Museum membership. The winning poems are on display through July next to the works of art that inspired the writers. The award winners, by division, include:

Middle School

First Place: Evan Kachmarik of Oregon, a student at St. John’s Jesuit Academy
Second Place: Maddy Vesoulis of Sylvania, a student at West Side Montessori
Third Place: Laramie Reynolds of Holland, a student at West Side Montessori

Honorable Mentions: Jenna Reichert of Walbridge, a student at all Saints Catholic School; Libby Stupica of Sylvania, a student at West Side Montessori, and Alex Whitacre of Bowling Green, a student at West Side Montessori.

High School

First Place: Michelle Li of Sylvania, a student at Sylvania Southview High School
Second Place: Gabriel Salas of Blissfield, Mich., a student at Blissfield High School
Third Place: Alex Joyce of Toledo, a student at Whitmer High School

Honorable Mentions:  Sydney Lahre of Toledo, a student at Sylvania Southview High School; Joey Sechrist of Whitehouse, a student at Anthony Wayne High School, and Aaron Powers of Toledo, a student at Central Catholic High School.


First Place: Cheryl Horton of Toledo.
Second Place: Steven Kapela of Waterville, a student at Ohio University.
Third Place: Kerry Trautman of Findlay.

Honorable Mentions: Andrew Field of Toledo, a student at the University of Toledo; Lylanne Musselman of Toledo; Mary Brandon of Maumee; Mary Lee Gladieux of Toledo, and Ylisse Joell Yepez of Toledo.

Post a Comment