Skip to main content

Four new members appointed to the Toledo Museum of Art Board of Directors

Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo Art Museum, Toledo Museum

The Toledo Museum of Art is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members to the Board of Directors and the election of its board officers for 2019. Joining the Museum’s Board of Directors are Dave Krock, member at Eastman & Smith Ltd.; Rita Mansour, senior managing director at Mansour Wealth Management; Sharon Speyer, president of Huntington's Northwest Ohio region; and Thomas Winston, vice president, administration and chief financial officer for the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority. Each new member will serve a five-year term on the board of directors.

Elected as officers were Cynthia B. Thompson, who is serving in her fourth year as board chair, Sara Jane DeHoff, Scott Trumbull and Randy Oostra as vice chairs, Dennis G. Johnson as secretary, and John Szuch as treasurer.

Docent president Karen Hakel and president of the TMA Ambassadors, Jan Antal, will both serve one-year terms on the Museum’s Board of Directors for 2019.

“We want to welcome and thank these new board members for their willingness to serve,” said Brian Kennedy, the Museum’s Edward Drummond and Florence Scott Libbey director. “They bring a variety of skills and expertise to the board but hold a common belief in the Museum’s purpose of art education.”

In addition to serving on the Museum’s board of directors, board members also aid TMA by contributing their time and knowledge towards a variety of operating committees including art, finance, audit, investment review, development, education, and building and grounds. Volunteering alongside the board and select members of the Museum staff on these operating committees are Pariss Coleman, Kim Collins, Jarman Davis, William Foster, Michael Hanf, Ann Hartmann, Julie Higgins, Dee Isaac, Zac Isaac, Inge Klopping, Susan Kruse, Jon Levine, Roger Mandle, Bob Moran, Steve Rothschild, Jay Secor, Trina Secor, Ben Trumbull, Margy Trumbull, Georgia Welles, and Marybeth Wilkinson.

“Effective committees are essential to operating the Museum and we really appreciate these volunteers. I thank them for sharing their expertise as they join board members and TMA staff in providing this valuable leadership,” Kennedy said.

New Board Member Bios

Dave Krock

Dave Krock is a partner at the law firm Eastman & Smith Ltd., and a member of the firm’s Executive Committee. He has over 36 years of experience as a lawyer, CPA (non-practicing), trust officer, and tax advisor. His law practice is concentrated primarily in the areas of estate planning, business succession planning, charitable planned giving, probate, tax, and providing general counsel to small and medium-size businesses. He graduated from the University of Toledo College of Law in 1982 where he was a member of the law review. Krock is a member of the Ohio State Bar Association, an Ohio Certified Public Accountant (non-practicing), and was formerly a tax senior at Arthur Young & Co.

Rita Mansour

As senior managing director of Mansour Wealth Management, Rita Mansour advises clients in the U.S. and around the world. Fluent in three languages, her correspondent relationships allow her access to global markets and a vast client list including professionals, business owners, retirees, foundations, endowments, and institutions involved in various areas of commerce. A Toledo native, Rita earned her Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Toledo. Mansour is actively involved in many civic and philanthropic organizations and serves as a board member of Lourdes University, Croswell Opera House, and Chairperson for the Sisters of Notre Dame Capital Campaign as well as varied committee responsibilities for The Arts Commission and the Toledo Community Foundation.  She also volunteers annually on mission trips to help those most in need.

Sharon Speyer

Sharon Speyer is president of Huntington's Northwest Ohio region, headquartered in Toledo. She has been with Huntington and its predecessor banks since 1992. Speyer serves on numerous boards and committees including: Aspire Board of Managers; Regional Growth Partnership Board; Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority Board; and the Toledo Symphony Board of Trustees. She is also the former Chair of the University of Toledo Board of Trustees. Speyer received her Juris Doctorate from the University of Toledo College of Law after earning her bachelor’s degree in international studies from The Ohio State University.

Thomas J. Winston

Thomas J. Winston serves as vice president, administration and chief financial officer for the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority. In this capacity, he has accountability for leading the Port Authority’s accounting, finance, legal, information technology, and human resources departments as well as its financial and strategic planning practices. Winston serves on a number of area boards including: ProMedica, Imagination Station, Toledo Opera, and Lourdes University. A native of Chicago, he earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in economics and philosophy from Ohio Wesleyan University and Master of Business Administration from Loyola University Chicago.